Walnut Slab Part 3: Table Saw Lead On Extension

Table Saw Lead On Extension

To support my walnut slab as I push it into the blade to create the chamfer on my new coffee / side table top, I decided to make it removable, so it wouldn’t get in the way each and every time I use the table saw.

My plan was to add some 2×4 beams down the side of the workbench which could be slid in and out to the desired length and a piece of melamine scrap on top, to bring it up to the correct height, level with the table saw.

To hold each beam in place, I decided to go with a block of 2×4 above and below the extendable part, then a strip of plywood over the two blocks to hold the beams against the workbench.

As you can see in the image above, it came out pretty good.

However… I failed to measure the slab and the length of the beams before starting, as such, when I tried to cut the chamfers on the longer sides of my coffee / side table, I found there wasn’t enough support for the wood before it got to the blade.

This is going to take much more thinking to overcome.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started